Born at Midnight (Shadow Falls, #1)

Born at Midnight (Shadow Falls, #1) by C.C.Hunter –>5 of 5 stars

Well, I just finished this one and I have to say that I really liked it! I didn’t really know what to expect because I hadn’t heard anything about the series, but I thought it was a great beginning!
For the most part, Kylie Galen is an average teenage girl with average boy and best friend drama…that is, with the exception that she has night terrors and creepy ‘soldier boy’ stalker. This would all be ok if she hadn’t just come home to her father leaving her mother. She instantly blames her frigid mother and begs her father to take her with him. When he doesn’t consent, Kylie is left confused and hurt.
Without giving too much away all these issues lead Kylie to “acting out” and of course, she gets busted and sent to a summer camp for “troubled teens.” What Kylie doesn’t know is that the camp is really for kids that are also “paranormals.” 
So, up until the second half of this book, I had pretty much decided that it was a good book, but was only 4 star worthy because I kept finding Kylie to be a bit whiny and irritating. I mean, really, you see ghosts and have night terrors…why can’t you just accept you aren’t normal?? I felt like banging my head against the wall several times. I mean really, if I just found out that vampires, werewolves, shapeshifters, and fairies existed…in addition to the fact that I could see ghosts and all that jazz, I think I would just be a believer.
With that aside though, the romances between Kylie and Lucas and Derek more than made up for my minor irritations with Kylie. For being a YA, this is a pretty steamy read. And with some fairly graphic fantasy sequences. Granted, nothing naughty actually happens, but there are several references to Kylie’s breasts, what they are pressed up against and who she wants to touch them. lol. I know this sounds stupid to remark about, because I could care less, but some of my Teen parents would want to know. Whether I agree with them caring is one thing…just wanted a note on here that this is a definite PG 13 if not a bit more.

 The good news? Hunter does a great job of having Kylie say No to these guys and sex. She portrays her denial in realistic ways that is bound to help teen girls when they experience such situations. Plus, Kylie gets several good friends and an adult role model to back her up with these feelings and help her to be confident in her choices. So, that was cool. Also, to alleviate my irritation with Kylie’s character, Hunter did have Kylie reconcile her earlier more juvenile behavior (i.e her whiny-ness). Kylie does evolve as a friend and person throughout the book, and that is just something that many YA authors don’t have their main characters do. They are usually pretty transparent the whole way through.
So altogether, this was a great read. I read it super quick, and for me, that means that the writing was clear and flowed well. I’m not a fast reader, so if I get through things fast it’s because the plot is great and so is the writing. I’m not saying this is a super profound book or anything…just that it’s a fun, clever, and often humorous YA paranormal read. It’s refreshing and sexy and I can’t wait to read book 2.
P.S. – I’m on Team Lucas!! What do you guys think?? 😛
http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/2285690-melissa-wehunt”>View all my reviews

Leave a comment